Science

We live in a complex world, one full of opportunities and problems that is only understood through an understanding of science and technology.  It is the philosophy of the Science Department of Rockhurst High School to develop the skills of science in men to prepare them to recognize the opportunities science presents for the beneficial service of mankind.  An emphasis on analysis is instilled in students, both to create responsible media and research literacy as well as the ability to evaluate experimental data.  Laboratory and Field technique skills are developed in all science disciplines in order to obtain data leading to meaningful scientific experiences of the hands-on nature in which students are doing science, allowing for a deeper understanding using an open ended approach.  The science students will encounter will originate from the real world, creating a more meaningful and relevant experience.  Students are challenged to use problem solving techniques to solve real world problems and encounter the science involved in a deeper manner.  Rockhurst seeks to create citizen scientists who are inspired to pursue the sciences at the next level of academics.  

Progression of Courses
Freshmen Year: Biology, Honors Biology, or Introduction to Robotics
Sophomore Year: Chemistry or Honors Chemistry
Junior Year: Physics, Pre-AP Physics, or Robotics Engineering
Senior Year: AP Biology, AP Chemistry, AP Physics, Human Physiology, Environmental Science, Earth Science 

Science Department Faculty

Mr. Paul Winkeler, MS - Department Chair

Email: pwinkele@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x340

Voice Mail: 380

 

Mr. Stephen Arico, BS

Email: sarico@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x300

Voice Mail: 216

 

Mr. Patrick Doyle, BA

Email: pdoyle@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x300

Voice Mail: 326

 

Ms. Heidi Kuster, MA

Email: hkuster@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x340

Voice Mail: 304

 

Mr. Tim Nendick, BS

Email: tnendick@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x300

Voice Mail: 388

 

Mr. Mike Sullivan, MA

Email: msulliva@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x300

Voice Mail: 341

 

Mr. Nick Vaughn, MA

Email: nvaughn@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x340

Voice Mail: 223

 

Mr. Rich Wikiera, MA

Email: rwikiera@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x340

Voice Mail: 204

 

Mr. Andy Wilcox, MS

Email: awilcox@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x200

Voice Mail: 200



Mr. Andrew Wilson, BA

Email: awilson@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x300

Voice Mail: 290

 

Bookmark and Share

Rockhurst High School

Established in 1910 - Ad Majorem Dei Gloriam

9301 State Line Road, Kansas City, MO 64114-3299     816.363.2036