Theology

The Department of Theology is an essential component of Rockhurst’s Mission:  To educate the whole person, to form leaders and to promote “Men for Others” in the Roman Catholic, Jesuit Tradition.  The primary focus of the department is the learning which occurs within the classroom experience.  The aim is to empower the student to understand the traditions and to clarify his own thinking with respect to these traditions.  In this way, the student can begin, or strengthen,  the habit of consciously deciding to be a “man for others” as he is formed in the image of Jesus Christ.  The sequence of courses takes into account the student’s continuing growth in faith, his ability to work with theological concepts and his discernment to make mature decisions in the Roman Catholic Faith.  Theology is an academic discipline and is required for eight semesters:

First Year:  Foundations of Catholic Christianity and Catholic Morality
Second Year:  Hebrew Scriptures and Christian Scriptures
Third Year:  Catholic Ethics and Religions of the World
Fourth Year:  Social Justice and Christian Lifestyles 

Theology Department Faculty

Fr. Vincent Giacabazi, SJ, MTh, MDiv - Department Chair

Email: vgiacabazi@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x280

Voice Mail: 392

 

Mr. Armand Aaron, MA

Email: aaaron@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x280

Voice Mail: 252

 

Mr. Stephen Charbonneau, BS

Email: scharbonneau@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x280

Voice Mail: 377

 
 

Mr. Marvin Grilliot, MA

Email: mgrilliot@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x584

Voice Mail: 584

 

Mr. Max Magee, BA

Email: mmagee@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x373

Voice Mail: 373

 

Mr. Luke McLellan, MA

Email: lmclellan@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x280

Voice Mail: 375

 

Mr. John Morris, MA

Email: jmorris@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x280

Voice Mail: 372

 

Mr. Evan Niebur, BA

Email: eniebur@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x542

Voice Mail: 244

 

Mrs. Molly Reardon, BA

Email: mreardon@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x280

Voice Mail: 374

 

Fr. Daniel Tesvich, SJ, MA, MDiv

Email: dtesvich@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x542

Voice Mail: 242

 

 

Bookmark and Share

Rockhurst High School

Established in 1910 - Ad Majorem Dei Gloriam

9301 State Line Road, Kansas City, MO 64114-3299     816.363.2036